Robert + Nathanael 9.8.12

This video is the wedding of Robert Brown and his husband Nathanael at The Mansion at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort in Lexington, Kentucky. They were married on September 8, 2012. Upon sharing this video it has gone viral. Because both gentlemen are apparently a member of the national greek organization Kappa Alpha Psi a historically African-American fraternity founded on the campus of Indiana University on January 5, 1911.

Many members are upset at the nuptials and have taken to every social media outlet condemning them and their union. I don’t understand homophobia anymore than I understand racism. Or I will say I choose not to want to learn hatred in a way that I understand it. I will acknowledge that it exists but I was not raised to judge people based on appearance. I was raised to judge people based on how they carry themselves, their aspirations, the way they treat me and others.  As a society we are taught to stereotype and judge. I for one have worked on myself personally in the last 15 years to undo that.

As I’ve gotten older I do have my own prejudices though. I dislike people with poor hygiene. I dislike people who are cavalier about the safety of their children. I also am honing a severe disdain for people who text and drive. But I think that this is something that we can all agree on across the board in any culture and creed. No??

What people will have to grow to accept is that hatred of anyone because they are gay is a cultural thing. It is not based in the Bible. It is not condemned by God. It was condemned by man who thinks they speak for God.

